Can a pitcher get a win and a save for the same game?

A STAFF REPORT FROM THE STRAIGHT DOPE SCIENCE ADVISORY BOARD

Dear Straight Dope:

A starting pitcher is removed after the fifth inning with a one one lead. Instead of taking him out of the game the manager puts him at another position. For the next three innings the relief pitcher holds the lead. If the starting pitcher returns to the mound and pitches a scoreless ninth inning does he earn both the win and the save?

Ian replies:

No, because according to the Major League Baseball Rulebook, one of the conditions of being credited with a save is that the pitcher in question “is not the winning pitcher.” [rule 10.20 (2)] The pitcher would get the win; nobody would get the save.

Send questions to Cecil via cecil@straightdope.com.

STAFF REPORTS ARE WRITTEN BY THE STRAIGHT DOPE SCIENCE ADVISORY BOARD, CECIL'S ONLINE AUXILIARY. THOUGH THE SDSAB DOES ITS BEST, THESE COLUMNS ARE EDITED BY ED ZOTTI, NOT CECIL, SO ACCURACYWISE YOU'D BETTER KEEP YOUR FINGERS CROSSED.

Comment on this Column